Stevens Named 2014 Schelde Sports/WDIIB Coach of the Year





Bentley University head coach Barbara Stevens has been named the 2014 Schelde North America/Women's Division II Bulletin Coach of the Year.

Stevens led her Falcons to an unbeaten 35-0 record and to the Division II national championship.

In addition to leading the school to its first women's basketball title, Stevens became only the sixth women's basketball coach in NCAA history to reach the 900-win plateau with a win on Jan. 25..

"Barbara is truly one of the outstanding coaches in the country and she led her team to a dream season. She is most deserving of this honor," said *Women's Division II Bulletin* editor and publisher Gary Rubin. "Along with Schelde Sports, we are pleased to recognize her for her achievement and hard work."

Women's Division II Bulletin has named a Coach of the Year every season since 1993-94. Stevens is the third Northeast-10 Conference coach to win the award.

"Coaching college basketball today means sacrifices and countless hours devoted to a team, and winning a national championship with a perfect record takes an outstanding effort from the first day of practice to the final buzzer in March," said Jim Peterson, president of Schelde Sports, a leading basketball goal and equipment manufacturer. "Schelde Sports is honored to partner with Women's Division II Bulletin to recognize Barbara Stevens and all the coaches in Division II college basketball."



2014 Coach of the Year Barbara Stevens, Bentley

WDIIB Coach of the Year Winners

1994	Luvina	Buckley,	San	Bernardino
------	--------	----------	-----	------------

1995 Amy Ruley, North Dakota St.

1996 Jorge Hoehn, UC Davis

1997 Gene Roebuck, North Dakota

1998 Cindy Stein, Emporia St.

1999 Nancy Winstel, Northern Kentucky

2000 Curt Bailey, College of St. Rose

2001 Jay Sparks, Columbus State

2002 Paul Thomas, Cal Poly Pomona

2003 Aaron Johnston, South Dakota St.

2004 Darcie Vincent, California (Pa.)

2005 Ron McHenry, Washburn

2006 Dawn Plitzuweit, Grand Valley St.

2007 Joe Frager, So. Connecticut

2008 Sandra Rushing, Delta State

2009 Pam Gohl, Minnesota State

2010 Brandon Schneider, Emporia St.

2011 Dennis Cox, Clayton St.

2012 Jacques Curtis, Shaw

2013 Joe Pellicane, Dowling

Conference Coaches of the Year

California Collegiate

Danelle Bishop, Cal Poly Pomona

Carolinas

Jason Williams, Belmont Abbey

Central Atlantic

Tom Shirley, Philadelphia U.

CIAA

James Hill, Jr., Virginia State

Fast Coast

Deirdre Moore, LIU Post

Great American

Tim Kirby, Harding

Great Lakes Intercollegiate

Jamie Pewinski, Saginaw Valley St.

Great Lakes Valley

Steve Huber, Drury

Great Midwest

Gary Van Atta, Trevecca Nazarene

Great Northwest

Kevin Woodin, Montana State Billings

Gulf South

Stephanie Lawrence Yelton, W. Florida

l la audiau al

Michelle Bento-Jackson, TX A&M Intl.

Lone Star

Mark Kellogg, West Texas A&M

MIAA

Lane Lord, Pittsburg State

Mountain East

Adam Collins, Charleston

Northeast-10

Barbara Stevens, Bentley

Northern Sun

Curt Fredrickson, Northern State

Pacific West

LaNay Larson, Academy of Art

Peach Belt

Fala Bullock, AASU/Buffie Burson, N.G.

Pennsylvania

E - Bill Cleary, Bloomsburg W - Stan Swank, Edinboro

Rocky Mountain

Taylor Wagner, Colorado Mesa

South Atlantic

Todd Starkey, Lenoir-Rhyne

SIAC

Robert Skinner, Albany State

Sunshine State

Tom Jessee, Tampa