Coach of the Year

LCU's Gomez Captures 2016 Schelde Sports/WDIIB Coach of the Year Award





Lubbock Christian University head coach Steve Gomez has been named the 2016 Schelde Sports/Women's Division II Bulletin Coach of the Year.

Gomez, in his 10th season as head coach of the Lady Chaps, guided his team to a 34-0 record heading into the 2016 NCAA Division II national championship game where LCU will meet Alaska Anchorage. Gomez led LCU to its first unbeaten regular season (26-0) and a third first-place finish in the Heartland Conference during its first year of postseason eligibility in Division II.

"All college basketball coaches are to be commended for their tireless devotion and sacrifices this season. Accomplishing an undefeated regular season and advancing to the national championship game takes an outstanding effort from the first day of practice," said Jim Peterson, president of Schelde Sports, a leading basketball goal and equipment manufacturer. "Schelde Sports is proud to partner with *Women's Division II Bulletin* to recognize Steve Gomez and all the coaches in Division II college basketball."

Women's Division II Bulletin has named a Coach of the Year every season since 1993-94.



2016 Coach of the Year Steve Gomez, Lubbock Christian

WDIIB Coach of the Year Winners

1994 Luvina Buckley, San Bernardino 1995 Amy Ruley, North Dakota St. Jorge Hoehn, UC Davis 1996 1997 Gene Roebuck, North Dakota 1998 Cindy Stein, Emporia St. 1999 Nancy Winstel, Northern Kentucky 2000 Curt Bailey, College of St. Rose 2001 Jay Sparks, Columbus State 2002 Paul Thomas, Cal Poly Pomona 2003 Aaron Johnston, South Dakota St. 2004 Darcie Vincent, California (Pa.) 2005 Ron McHenry, Washburn 2006 Dawn Plitzuweit, Grand Valley St. 2007 Joe Frager, So. Connecticut 2008 Sandra Rushing, Delta State 2009 Pam Gohl, Minnesota State Brandon Schneider, Emporia St. 2010 2011 Dennis Cox, Clayton St. 2012 Jacques Curtis, Shaw 2013 Joe Pellicane, Dowling Barbara Stevens, Bentley 2014 2015 Jess Strom, California (Pa.)

Conference Coaches of the Year California Collegiate Heidi VanDerveer, UC San Diego

Carolinas Corey Fox, Limestone

Central Atlantic David Caputo, Bloomfield

CIAA AnnMarie Gilbert, Virginia Union

East Coast Anthony Crocitto, NYIT

Great American Julio Pacheco, Southern Arkansas

Great Lakes Intercollegiate Robyn Fralick, Ashland

Great Lakes Valley Kristen Gillespie, Lewis

Great Midwest Shannon Sword, Ursuline

Great Northwest Kevin Woodin, Montana State Billings

Gulf South Mark Campbell, Union

Heartland Steve Gomez, Lubbock Christian

Lone Star Kevin Baker, Angelo State

MIAA Tony Hobson, FHSU & Lane Lord, PSU

Mountain East Lynn Ullom, West Liberty

Northeast-10 Kristen Hutchison, American International

Northern Sun Scott Ballard, Winona State

Pacific West Jarrod Olson, Cal Baptist

Peach Belt Jonathan Norton, CSU & Nate Teymer, Augusta

Pennsylvania E - Diane Decker, East Stroudsburg W - Jess Strom, California

Rocky Mountain Brittany Simpson, Colorado Mines

South Atlantic Sarah Jansen, Mars Hill

SIAC James Rice, Benedict

Sunshine State LeAnn Freeland, NSU & Betsy Harris, FSU