## Wash U.'s Edwards Repeats As Molten/DIII News Coach of the Year

### Sponsored by:

#### 2009 Conference Coaches of the Year

Allegheny Mountain: Mike MacDonald, Medaille American Southwest/East: Terry Butterfield, UT Dallas American Southwest/West: Ken DeWeese, M.H. Baylor Capital: Scott McClary, Marymount Centennial: Kevin Curley, McDaniel CUNYAC: Ray Rankis, Baruch Colonial States: Marcus Kahn, Cabrini Commonwealth Coast: Jason Mulligan, New England Empire Eight: Jim Mullins, Ithaca Great Northeast: Robert Sanicola, St. Joseph's Great South: Randy Lambert, Maryville Heartland: Brian Lane, Transylvania Illinois & Wisconsin: Bill Harris, Wheaton Iowa: Mike DeGeorge, Cornell Landmark: Frank Marcinek, Susquehanna Liberty League: Chris Down, St. Lawrence Little East: Bob Walsh, Rhode Island College Massachusetts: Joe Farroba, Bridgewater; Chris Harvey, Salem State MAC Commonwealth: Chris Carideo, Widener MAC Freedom: Scott Coval, DeSales Midwest: David Arseneault, Grinnell; Joel DePagter, Lawrrence Minnesota: Steve Fritz, St. Thomas New Jersey: Gerry Matthews, Richard Stockton NESCAC: Jeff Brown, Middlebury NEWMAC: Larry Anderson, MIT North Atlantic: T.J. Maines, Thomas North Coast: Steve Fleming, Hiram North Eastern: Kevin Grimmer, SUNYIT Northern Athletics: Ryan Rebsom, Rockford Northwest: Justin Lunt, Puget Sound Ohio: Mike Moran, John Carroll Old Dominion: Tom Palombo, Guilford President's: John Ellenwood, Thomas More St. Louis: Matt Mitchell. Westminster Skyline: Erik Smiles, Farmingdale Southern Collegiate: Pat Cunningham, Trinity SUNYAC: Kevin Moore, Fredonia University: Mark Edwards, Washington USA South: Jimmy Allen, Averett Wisconsin: Bob Semling, Stevens Point

Note: As selected by the league coaches. Not every conference selects a coach of the year.



For the second straight season, Washington University head coach Mark Edwards has been named the Molten/*DIII News* Coach of the Year.

Edwards, who also won the award in 2002 and 2008, led his Bears to a 29-2 overall record and the 2009 Division III national championship. He becomes the first three-time winner of the award and first back-to-back recipient.

"It's difficult to win one championship and Mark has led his team to two straight," said *DIIIN* Editor Gary Rubin. "He did a great job with his team this season, especially after losing the national Player of the Year from last year. We are pleased to award him a third Molten trophy."

Edwards will receive the coveted Molten Gold Trophy ball to recognize his award.



**Coach of the Year:** Mark Edwards Washington Univ.

#### Molten/DIIIN Coach of the Year Recipients

- 1994 Pat Flannery, Lebanon Valley
- 1995 Bo Ryan, Wisconsin Platteville
- 1996 John Giannini, Rowan
- 1997 Todd Raridon, Nebraska Wesleyan
- 1998 Bo Ryan, Wisconsin Platteville
- 1999 Glen Miller, Connecticut College
- 2000 Kevin Vande Streek, Calvin College
- 2001 Mike Lonergan, Catholic
- 2002 Mark Edwards, Washington (Mo.)
- 2003 Dave Paulsen, Williams College
- 2004 Jack Bennett, Wis. Stevens Point 2005 — Rob Kornaker, St. John Fisher
- 2005 Rob Kornaker, St. John Fisher 2006 — Dave Macedo, Virginia Wesleyan
- 2000 Dave Macedo, Virginia 2007 – Dave Hixon, Amherst
- 2008 Mark Edwards, Washington (Mo.)

# Renew Now And Lock In Your Savings!

Dear Reader:

Thank you for subscribing to **DIII News** last season. We value your support and want to show our gratitude by offering you a special renewal price for the 2009-10 season: <u>pay the same amount</u>!

Because you are a valued reader, you can order another season of **DIII News** for just \$39.95. That's exactly what you paid last season! Plus, we'll be bigger and better this year. In addition to the monthly issues with coaching features and player and coach awards, you'll get timely e-mail editions to keep you up-to-date on all the happenings in Division III basketball.

Just fill out this form and return with a check for \$39.95, or <u>use a credit card to order online by</u> <u>clicking here</u>.

We look forward to having you as a subscriber again next season!

Thanks for your support.

DIII News

Sign Up for DIII News today!	
Yes! Renew my subscription to <i>DIII News</i> for the 2009-10 season!	
<ul> <li>12 issues, including the special Preseason Issue and the Postseason</li> <li>Review. Price: <u>\$39.95</u></li> </ul>	
Name School Address	Make check for \$39.95 payable to GSR Communications.
CityZip	To pay with a credit card visit www.smallcollegehoops.com
E-mail:	Thank You!
Return to:         GSR Communications         Attn: DIII News         6090 SW Elm Avenue • Beaverton • OR • 97005         Phone: (503) 292-4421• FAX: (503) 292-1389	